Sacrifices

The story I pitched to do at Newsy today has really been weighing on me.  When I first read about what happened to Lara Logan, I was appalled.  I also knew that I had to cover this story.  In going through a lot of the discussion that was happening surrounding her attack, I began to feel torn.  Much of the discussion revolved around violence against women in the Middle East and whether or not women should cover stories in these areas.  The semi-feminist part of me wanted to say “I have just as much right to go cover a story as any man does.”  Another part of me thought about what torture Logan must have gone through and thinks it may be better to avoid the conflict all together.  It was difficult for me to put together because I felt so torn about the subject.

Then I received an email from someone at KOMU.  It said simply “What journalists do” and had this link.

http://sonofboldventure.blogspot.com/2011/02/lara-logans-math.html

Ironically, this is what I touched on in my last entry.  Am I ready for journalism to become my life?  I don’t know.  Would I be willing to make sacrifices to tell a great story?  Maybe.  This was my issue with the story.  It is such a tragedy but she has been so brave to share and to go in the first place.  I don’t believe that I have to decide how much I am willing to give up at this point in my life.  But it is time to start preparing for when that day comes.

Leave a Reply

