The White Lights

It began when I was three years old.  My parents took me to see my first musical.  It was Beauty and the Beast.  That was the first time I knew magic was real and I’ve believed it ever since.  I am lucky enough to be able to see at the very least 3 shows a year.  Usually it’s at The Fabulous Fox Theater in St. Louis with my mom.

Other times it’s with my best friends.

Sometimes we even make it to a show when we travel (my favorite of these was We Will Rock You, a Queen musical in Toronto that never made it to New York).

I’ve been able to act in show since I was seven.  The most recent was Dog Sees God:Confessions of a Teenage Blockhead at Mizzou last winter.  I played Marcy from the Peanuts cartoons (unofficially) and made some of my very best friends.

Theatre has always been magical for me.  This weekend, I was able to live out that magic in the heart of Broadway.  On Saturday we rushed How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying.  Basically that means you camp out in front of the doors until the box office opens in order to get tickets for $30.  We were the first in line.  We got front row seats.

In line, we met a really nice woman who gave us amazing New York advice (including HipTix).  It’s amazing what nice people you can meet so randomly.  Bono was enjoying the show the same night.  Yes, I was within feet of both Daniel Radcliffe and Bono at the same time.  It was one of the best shows I have ever seen (and I’ve seen too many to count).  Bono was in town for the Tonys which happened to be the following night.  Normally, I watch the Tonys from my couch commenting on every single moment.  I look forward to it all year.  This year, I watched them from Times Square.

It is unreal that I get to experience my lifelong passion in its epicenter.  It almost seems like everything has been directing me to New York.  Now I’m finally here and get to be a part of something I’ve always believed is bigger than me.  If I could, I’d go to the theater every night.  I think Neil Patrick Harris’ Tony rap sums up my feelings:

“Theater, because it’s what we live, we’re changing some lives tonight

And theater thrives because we live to give it, so to speak

This ain’t reality TV, this is eight shows a week

Every chorus member that you saw tonight tappin’

Had to make miracles happen

For a chance to see you clappin’

And applauding in the audience. What’s next? Who knows?

Anything goes. Now go see a ____________ Broadway show.

Thank you, good night.”

Leave a Reply

