New on Broadway

The New York Times posted a long article giving a rundown of all the new shows coming to Broadway.  Naturally, I’m freaking out about it.  So other than Nick Jonas taking over for Darren Criss who’s taking over for Daniel Radcliffe in “How to Succeed In Business Without Really Trying,” here’s what I’m excited about.  Or not.

“Bonnie & Clyde”  Yes, the crime duo is taking over the stage.  The show’s site post some previews of the music.  Give me criminals singing any day.

http://cdn.shoutlet.com/widgets/flash/SWFBootstrap.php?w=39340

Okay, so I’m torn about “Bring It On: The Musical.”  I’m really over the whole movical craze so I’ve been against this show just on principle.  But then I saw in this article Lin-Manuel Miranda and Tom Kitt wrote the music.  “In The Heights” and “Next to Normal” are two of my favorite shows.  The idea of them working together excites me to no end.  Maybe this one will surprise me like “Spiderman: Turn Off the Dark” did (yes, I liked it.  Cue injury jokes.)

You’re favorite flop and mine “Carrie” is being revived.  Based on the Stephen King classic, the original musical closed in 1988 after only 5 regular performances.  Apparently, the songs have been revamped.  I don’t buy it.  But bold move, producers.  Kudos for being ambitious.

So now for the straight plays I’m amped for.  There are a lot.   “Wit” with Cynthia Nixon playing a poetry professor fight cancer.  All kinds of awesome happening there.  “Milk Like Sugar” about a 16 year old girl in a pregnancy pact with her friends.  The cast is jam packed with amazing actors.  It should be great.  I would love to see Jesse Eisenberg’s play “Asuncion,” however it is a limited run.  “The Agony and Ecstasy of Steve Jobs”  is a one man show looking at the way Apple treats it’s Chinese factory workers.  The play I am most excited about though is David Auburn’s “The Columnist.”  He is an amazing playwright I can’t wait to see what he has done with political columnist Joseph Alsop.

Just when I thought I couldn’t have any more reason’s to hurry back to New York, NYT reminds me of what I’m missing.

Leave a Reply

